Saint-Honore 16 Triffle (page 227) – outcakes

additional photos for hector’s take on ROSE’S heavenly CAKES: Saint-Honore Trifle (page 227), holiday take.

i used rambutan instead of strawberries.  also, i used maui turbinado sugar in the cake, in the chiboust cream, and in the macinated rambutan.  instead of spun sugar, i made a caramel sage (with white sugar).

 

the bed of rambutan is a mold of ice. it was perfect to display thru xmas eve; as the ice melted, guests scooped out the rambutan fruit.  the ice also kept the cake cool in my tropical xmas 85oF eve!

9 thoughts on “Saint-Honore 16 Triffle (page 227) – outcakes

  1. H, that is positively the most creative, beautiful, gorgeous, and awesome looking take that I’ve seen for a while. I meant every word with the utmost admiration for your work. Okay, maybe I’m also partial to rambutan – one of my favorite fruits. I’ve never see rambutan shell so pretty!

    LOVE LOVE LOVE, the triple hearts!!!

    One question, how do you keep the rambutan shell in place when you poured the water and freeze it?

    Like

    1. Awwwww, thx thx thx J.

      place the fruit on the mold (I used a 16″ heart cake pan). fill with only 1/4″ of water, so the fruit doesn’t float up and move. freeze. fill the rest of the water.

      this is a trick I learned from my Mom, when she molded pineapple slices on jello for her pineapple Bavarian cream cake.

      rose’s celebrations or rose’s melting pot? recommends using distilled water to prevent cloudiness on the ice. I didn’t, so my ice mold is cloudy. what u see here, is after one hour of room temperature display, a layer of ice melted, and the rambutan starts to scream: I am under here.

      Sent from my iPhone

      Like

    2. J, one more thing. in my opinion, rambutan tastes better when macinated overnight with a dust of sugar or when frozen and thawed. both treatments open up the flavors by squeezing some water out.

      Sent from my iPhone

      Like

  2. Hector, I agree with Jenn, that is one super creative and gorgeous take! The beauty and functionality of the rambutan ice mold are amazing, and so is the caramel cage. Bravo!

    Like

  3. H, it’s been 5 years since I’ve had any rambutan. I usually just ate it fresh, right after I peeled them. I love the slight tartness and juicyness of it.

    What did you put between the trifle and the frozen rambutan to keep the water from seeping into the trifle?

    Like

  4. It sure looks exotic Hector….lovely presentation…wll copy paste your mom’s trick so that the fruit does’nt float atop…smile

    Like

Leave a Reply

